Josephine Butler Awards 2015

Josephine Butler, Victorian social reformer, is celebrated annually with the JB Trust holding awards in her honour.

Volunteer of the Year Award went to  Jennifer Robinson a past Central Trustee and Diocesan President of our Mothers’ Union who has been closely associated with advocating the needs of rural parishes in the Diocese and establishing the contact centre at Good shepherd in West Derby (pictured).

The Revd Dr Canon Ellen Loudon was awarded the Scholarship and aims to visit New York to look at how women in deprived communities can be involved in the arts.

The main Josephine Butler Award went to St Catherine’s in St Helens a Nugent Care Project – it would certainly reflect not only the work of Josephine Butler but also the spirit of Archbishop Worlock and Bishop Sheppard and Archbishop Malcolm McMahon and Bishop Paul Bayes (who  nominated St Catherine’s for this |Award). St Catherine’s supports young people 10-17 many of whom have been victims of the type of abuse that we have read about in the Rotherham cases and which Josephine Butler would have been campaigning for statutory bodies and the churches to work to prevent were she alive today. St Catherine’s take young people from all over the country, they have an outstanding reputation and are the only voluntary and faith based centre recognised to do this important work.

There were reports on the Josephine Butler School Day and the Josephine Butler Summit. The next Summit a major event reflecting on women’s empowerment will be on October 3rd and will look at “Women the Church and the United National Development Goals. The speakers will include Bishop Chilton Knudsen, former Bishop of Maine, Revd Terrie Robinson of the Anglican Consultative Council and Chris Allen of Christian Aid (in the past she worked for the RC Justice and Peace Commission here). The Summits are arranged by the Revd Canon Cynthia Dowdle.

Pauline Lewis, Secretary of the Diocesan Mothers’ Union (on the left of photo) succeeds Ultan Russell as Chair of the Josephine Butler Memorial Trust.