Churches Together in the Merseyside Region

About The Diocese > What We Do > Ecumenical & World Links > Churches Together

Supporting churches together

Churches Together in the Merseyside Region ( covers an area that encompasses the Diocese of Liverpool and parts of the Diocese of Chester.

Churches Together in the Merseyside Region is funded in equal measures by:
  • the Roman Catholic Church (Archdiocese of Liverpool & Diocese of Shrewsbury)
  • the Church of England (Diocese of Liverpool & Diocese of Chester),
  • and the major Free Churches (Liverpool Methodist District, United Reformed Church Mersey Synod, North West Baptist Association, Salvation Army North Western Division)
The Rev Ian Smith, a Minister of the United Reformed Church, is the full time Ecumenical Development Officer Email:

The Officers of Churches Together in the Merseyside Region are:
  • Chair – Canon Prof Hilary Russell (Church of England)
  • Vice-Chair - Rev Howard Sharp (United Reformed Church)
  • Treasurer - Dr Peter Owen (Church of England)
  • Secretary - Rev Ian Smith (United Reformed Church)

Churches Together in the Merseyside Region is a registered charity (Reg. No. 519061).

The Trustees are also the Management Council.  The Bishops of Liverpool and Warrington are ex officio members and Canon Linda Jones (Director of Church Growth) is the third representative from the Diocese.

CTMR links with Churches Together Groups at a local level.  It produces Ecumenical News quarterly which is sent to all Anglican churches and is available on the CTMR website along with other useful information.

In alternate years, on Whit Sundays, there is an Ecumenical Walk of Witness between the two Cathedrals – this year the Sheppard-Worlock statue was formally unveiled during the walk.  The statue by the local sculptor, Stephen Broadbent, had been funded by public subscription and was the initiative of the Liverpool Echo.

CTMR has a Sponsoring Body which supports the range of Ecumenical Partnerships that exist – the Bishop of Warrington and Revd Andrew Edwards (Diocesan Ecumenical Officer) are the representatives on this.